Diesel

Image

Diesel

Some things just make my head hurt. For instance trying to calculate fuel consumption for my Hatteras. After doing some research and investigating the many different variables, I decided that without installing flow meters on each of the Detroit engines a guesstimate would have to do.

Without nitpicking hull speed, weight, RPMs, wind and tidal flow, lets say she gets about one gallon per mile at nine knots per hour. This is a best-case scenario.  I have heard horror stories of cruising full open burning 70 gallons per hour! Still with over a 1000-gallon fuel tank at a discounted rate of $4.79 per gallon an estimated fill up totals over $4799.00!!!

What does this have to do with getting rid of my stuff you ask? Well, they both make my head hurt!  Decisions, decisions! What goes, where does it go, and how does it get there?  Should I eat this year or fill up the fuel tanks?

Pondering these questions has forced me to learn about new options.  Happily I discovered that EBay has a program that allows you to donate a portion or all of your sales to your favorite charity.  They actually credit you back for a portion of your shipping and sales fees in proportion to your donation. Give 10 percent and get 10% rebate in fees.  Give 100% and get 100% rebate in fees! Pretty cool!

This prompted yet another decision.  With so many choices, which charity should I pick?  Staying true to my goal of moving aboard I decided that the Chesapeake Bay Foundation would be my choice.  They work for a better environment and for all the creatures living in it.

This gives me a little peace of mind that I can do a little to repay any damage that boating does to the bay.  Not that with the rising fuel cost I’ll be doing very much damage to the environment! I am sure at first I would be delighted with the weight loss, but things would soon turn ugly if I had to give up chocolate for an extended period of time.  No one wants to see that!  Grrrrrrrrr!!!

Jakikiri Joka Ho

Photographers note: There are four different textures applied to this image that I created during various shoots for Jakikiri Joka Ho.

2 thoughts on “Diesel

  1. Those are scary numbers! I think you are close in your estimate, since by comparison, at hull speed (8-10 kt) we get about 1.25 mpg. But the less stuff you have on your boat, the better off you are. This is a good motivation for not accumulating more stuff.
    Not sure what our travel plans are for the summer, but I’m not ready to trade food for fuel. PS – good thing we filled up last fall even though it was painful at the time.

Leave a Reply

